Skip to Main Content
03.01.2017 / Press Release

Advisory: Families USA Hosts Thursday Media Teleconference on Republican ACA Tax Credit Proposals

First in a Seven-Part Series of Media Briefings to Detail Impacts of Republican ACA Repeal Proposals in Layman’s Terms

Washington, D.C. – A teleconference to discuss Republican proposals to replace the Affordable Care Act’s (ACA) income-based financial assistance with refundable tax credits will be held at 11:30 a.m. (EST), 10:30 (CST), 9:30 (MST), and 8:30 (PST), Thursday, March 2.

Participating in the call will be: Lydia Mitts, Associate Director of Affordability for Families USA; and Sister Simone Campbell, Executive Director for NETWORK, the National Catholic Social Justice Lobby.

To participate, call: 877-876-9176; Conference ID#: 6669344.

This first in a seven-part teleconference series will last thirty minutes, beginning with a 10-minute presentation and followed by 20 minutes of Q&A. Future calls will be held at 11:30 a.m. (EST) on the following days:

  • Tuesday, March 7: Medicaid: Block Grants – Per Capita Caps
  • Thursday, March 9: Health Savings Account
  • Tuesday, March 14: High Risk Pools
  • Thursday, March 16: The Problems with Continuous Coverage Provisions
  • Tuesday, March 21: Essential Health Benefits/Preventive Services
  • Thursday, March 23: Selling Across State lines

The goal of these teleconferences is to explain in layman’s terms the impact of repealing the ACA, and the various replacement proposals currently being discussed, to journalists who may be unfamiliar with these ideas and how they could affect their readership or audiences.

These calls are being sponsored by the Protect Our Care Coalition. Different organizations within the coalition will be hosting and participating in these teleconferences.

The final teleconference also marks the 7th Anniversary of the Affordable Care Act.